top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemickehh

Shrines of the gods! Using Egyptian mythology but not really!

Shrines of the gods was made in less than a week! It was during a game jam (GJL Game Parade 2020) and the theme was "CARPE DIEM / SEIZE THE DAY" and I had just done a game jam 2 weeks earlier and made "Then and Now" you can try it here.


All I could think about was how could I build something as big and supported multiple ways to play as the previous game while at the same time trying to save as much time as I could to polish the game's art/music/code and such.


All I could think about was going procedural! I had never done any game that had any kind of procedural generation. I thought to myself this could be the perfect time to test it out!

This game takes place over 25 large pieces of land and everything on top of it is procedural except for the starting land.


Since the theme was "Seize the day" I thought to myself what if I make some sort of a survival type of game. I also had never made any survival games. The idea was very appealing to me and it satisfied my initial goal which was to create something that has a lot of depth but easy to get into and doesn't take the entire week to code.

Meet the four gods that hold this game's worlds together! Ra, Seth, Tefnut and Thoth! A day in the game takes 60 seconds of real time. You can grab the animals or the vegetables that are on the map and place them at any shrine of any god. However, the gods might not like what you have sacrificed. At the end of the day, you can see their stats and how your sacrifices affected them.

If you give them something they don't like, they will get weaker. If you give them something they like, they will get stronger. Your goal is to keep the balance between all of them. If any of them is stronger than the rest, they will affect your day and your world. And if any of them is weaker than the rest, they will lose control over what they are supposed to be protecting.


I will leave the exploration of each of their powers to you when you try the game, but for example; Seth, the god of the dead (and the moon, don't ask why 🤷‍♂️), if he is too weak, mummies will roam the map and spread rot to whatever they come across. And if he is too strong, the world will always be raining.


This game was a lot of fun to make and I intend to find a way to mix this idea with the previous idea (Then and Now) and come up with something completely new!


If you want to try the game, you can go here: https://mickehh.itch.io/shrines-of-the-gods


The Games Jobs Live Game Parade had a ceremony at the end where they showed some of the games that were created during the jam, and they handed awards to some. Unfortunately, I didn't win any awards with the game but I was lucky enough to be nominated for two awards; "Best Solo Game Dev Game" and "Best 2D Art"!


Badge for Game Parade 2020 - Judges Pick (Best Solo Game Dev Game)
Game Parade 2020 - Judges Pick (Best Solo Game Dev Game) Badge
A badge for the Game Parade 2020 - Judges Pick (Best 2D Art)
Game Parade 2020 - Judges Pick (Best 2D Art) Badge

Of course, if you want to give me feedback or stay in contact, here's my twitter: @mickehh_

Thanks you,

Cheers!


8 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page